The Consortium

NFDI4Microbiota’s core comprises 10 research institutes. Already several research institutes in the field, including professional associations, are participants of NFDI4Microbiota. NFDI4Microbiota is also working together with several international partners.

(Co-)Applicant institutions and spokespersons

Bielefeld University (Bielefeld U)
Prof. Dr. Alexander Sczyrba & Prof. Dr. Jens Stoye

European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
Prof. Dr. Peer Bork

German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures (DSMZ)
Prof. Dr. Jörg Overmann

Friedrich Schiller University Jena (FSU Jena)
Prof. Dr. Manja Marz

Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ)
Dr. Ulisses Nunes da Rocha

Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI)
Prof. Dr. Alice McHardy

Justus-Liebig-University Giessen (JLU Giessen)
Prof. Dr. Alexander Goesmann

Philipps-Universität Marburg (UMR)
Prof. Dr. Anke Becker

RWTH Aachen University (RWTH)
Prof. Dr. Thomas Clavel

ZB MED – Information Centre for Life Sciences (ZB MED)
Prof. Dr. Konrad Förstner

Supporting Societies

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Hygiene und Mikrobiologie (DGHM, German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology)

Deutschen Gesellschaft für Parasitologie (DGP, German Society for Parasitology)

Gesellschaft für Virologie e.V. (GFV, Society for Virology)

Vereinigung für Allgemeine und Angewandte Mikrobiologie (VAAM, Association for General and Applied Microbiology)

International partners and networks

National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) Microbiomes – Switzerland
Dr. Eavan Dorcey & Dr. Robin Tecon

GO FAIR – FAIR Microbiome
Dr. Stanton Martin

Participant institutions/networks and spokespersons

Jülich Research Centre
SPP 2330 – New concepts in prokaryotic virus-host interaction – from single cells to microbial communities
Prof. Dr. Julia Frunzke

Ulm University
SPP 2141 – CRISPR-Cas functions beyond defense
Prof. Dr. Anita Marchfelder

University of Kiel
SPP 2002 – Small Proteins in Prokaryotes, an Unexplored World
Prof. Dr. Ruth Schmitz-Streit

Essen University Hospital
Institute for Artificial Intelligence
Prof. Dr. Folker Meyer

Friedrich Schiller University Jena (FSU Jena)
EXE 2051 – Cluster of Excellence Balance of the Microverse
FungiNet: Collaborative Research Centre/Transregio 124
Pathogenic fungi and their human host: Networks of interaction
Prof. Dr. Axel A. Brakhage

Friedrich Schiller University of Jena
Institute of Microbiology
Chair of General Microbiology
Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort

German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Space Microbiology Research Group
Dr. Ralf Möller

Goethe University Frankfurt
Department of Biology and Genetics of Procaryotes
Prof. Dr. Jörg Soppa

Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf
Institute of Medical Microbiology and Hospital Hygiene
Prof. Dr. Alexander Dilthey

Helmholtz Centre Potsdam
GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
Section 3.7: Geomicrobiology
Dr. Alexander Bartholomäus

Helmholtz Institute for RNA-based Infection Research (HIRI)
RNA Biology of Bacterial Infections
Prof. Dr. Jörg Vogel

Helmholtz Zentrum München German Research Center for Environmental Health
Research Unit for Comparative Microbiome Analysis
Prof. Dr. Michael Schloter

Jena University Hospital
Centre for Innovation Competence (ZIK) Septomics
Host Septomics Research Group
Dr. Tilman Klassert

Jülich Research Centre
Institute of Bio- and Geosciences – Biotechnology (IBG-1)
Prof. Dr. Michael Bott

Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg
Department of Bioinformatics
Prof. Dr. Thomas Dandekar

Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg
Institute for Molecular Infection Biology (IMIB)
Research Center for Infectious Diseases (ZINF)
Prof. Dr. Cynthia Sharma

Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg
Institute for Virology and Immunobiology
Prof. Dr. Lars Dölken

Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen
Institute of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
Prof. Dr. Gabriele Klug

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Institute for Applied Biology (IAB)
Prof. Dr. Johannes Gescher

Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute (HKI)
Infection Biology and Molecular Biotechnology
Prof. Dr. Axel A. Brakhage

Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute (HKI)
Systems Biology and Bioinformatics
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Gianni Panagiotou

Leibniz Institute on Aging – Fritz Lipmann Institute (FLI)
Computational and Systems Biology of Aging
Prof. Dr. Steve Hoffmann

Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB)
Aquatic microbial ecology
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Grossart

Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich
Biomedical Center Munich
Experimental Parasitology
Prof. Dr. Nicolai Siegel

Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg
RG Pharmacognosy
Prof. Dr. Timo Niedermeyer

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine
Host-microbiome factors in cardiovascular disease
Dr. Sofia Forslund

Max Planck Institute for Biophysics
Department of Structural Biology
Prof. Dr. Werner Kühlbrandt

Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research
Integrative Bioinformatics group
Dr. Ruben Garrido-Oter

Robert Koch Institute (RKI)
Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler

Ruhr-University Bochum
Microbial Biology
Prof. Dr. Franz Narberhaus

Technical University of Darmstadt
Department of Biology
Prof. Dr. Beatrix Süß

Technical University of Munich
Collaborative Research Centre 1371 – Microbiome Signatures
Prof. Dr. Dirk Haller

Technical University of Munich
ZIEL – Institute for Food & Health
Dr. Ilias Lagkouvardos

University Hospital Cologne
Clinical Microbiome Research Group
Prof. Dr. Maria J.G.T. Vehreschild

University Hospital Erlangen
Institute of Microbiology – Clinical Microbiology, Immunology and Hygiene
Prof. Dr. Jochen Mattner

University Hospital Frankfurt
Infectious Diseases
Prof. Dr. Maria J.G.T. Vehreschild

University of Cologne
Institute of Medical Statistics and Computational Biology
Cologne Excellence Cluster on Cellular Stress Responses in Aging-Associated Diseases (CECAD)
Prof. Dr. Alexander Dilthey

University of Greifswald
Department of Functional Genomics
Prof. Dr. Uwe Völker

University of Greifswald
Institute for Biochemistry
Prof. Dr. Uwe T. Bornscheuer

University of Greifswald
Institute for Microbiology
Prof. Dr. Dörte Becher & Prof. Dr. Tim Urich

University of Hamburg
Microbiology & Biotechnology
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Streit

University of Kiel
Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology (IKMB)
Dr. Marc Höppner